Sour Album (Olivia Rodrigo) Book Tag

Okay you all, I have had Olivia Rodrigo’s new album Sour on repeat since it came out on May 21st. I. Am. Obsessed!!!! I honestly don’t think there is a skippable song on that whole thing because they all go so hard and are such bops 🎢 ANYWAYS, I saw that Ashmita @ The Fictional Journal created a tag for this album and I knew right away this was something I *had* to do.

If you asked me to pick a favorite song from the album, I could not do it. Seriously. My answer changes every day, but today I’m obsessed with Traitor, Brutal, and Jealousy, Jealousy.

πŸ’œ πŸ’œ πŸ’œ

THE RULES:

  • List the rules
  • Show some love to the one who tagged you
  • Mention the creator Ashmita @ The Fictional Journal and link back to the original post
  • Nominate as many people as you want and notify them by commenting on their post
  • Name a song you have on repeat
  • Have fun!

BRUTAL // a book with a lot of teenage angst

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour is the first book I thought of when reading this prompt. It is a really emotional book about loneliness and depression and while it does have a lot of teenage angst, it was written in such a deep way that I think everyone could relate to. In fact, if there is one book I wish I had written, it’s probably this one because of how beautiful it is.

TRAITOR // a book that broke your heart but you still keep going back to

This book literally broke my heart then put it back together, and it is definitely one i like to re-read from time to time. I read It Ends With Us for the first time a few years ago and it was also my first Colleen Hoover book which made it more special. Anyways, it is definitely one I would recommend and fits this prompt perfectly.

DRIVER’S LICENSE // a book that helped you grow or become who you are today

So it’s probably safe to say that the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series were a big part of a lot of our childhoods and I definitely credit them for being a part of the reason I went from just being a casual reader to,,,more. Like, it was the first time I loved the characters and was so invested in a plot.

1 STEP FORWARD, 3 STEPS BACK // a book which was slow paced but so addictive you couldn’t stop reading

Night Film is a really slow paced thriller that I initially was not too interested in. That being said, the more I read, the more addicting it got. While there were definitely flaws *cough* the ending *cough*, I was pretty satisfied overall with how this story turned out. If you don’t know, it’s about an investigative journalist who is looking into the death of a young woman, Ashley. There is a lot of spooky stuff going on because Ashley’s dad is a very famous movie director who is known for creating some of the scariest films ever.

DEJA VU // a book that makes you nostalgic

I read Ella Enchanted years ago, I don’t even remember how old I was. Anyways, I instantly fell in love with all the magic and the story that this book followed and now I get so nostalgic even just thinking about it. I also want to say that the movie was amazing as well and writing this post reminds me that I should do a re-watch of it soon.

GOOD 4 U // a book you almost DNF’d but it became your favorite

So, fun fact, I actually *did* DNF Six of Crows the first time I tried reading it. I had only read about 20 pages but I was so confused because I hadn’t read Shadow & Bone first and the names and concept of everything was making no sense to me. Obviously since then I have read the duology again, loved it, and am now a huge Grishaverse stan.

ENOUGH FOR YOU // a book that lived up to your incredibly high expectations

An Ember in the Ashes has is a very popular book (I mean, the whole series is) and most people who have read it have nothing but good stuff to say. So, going in, my expectations were set pretty high. Thankfully the delivery was amazing and I loved it so much,,,though I cannot say the same for the rest of the series πŸ‘πŸ‘

HAPPIER // a book or series that caused a book hangover

I feel like this is another book I mention all the time but I can’t help it, Save the Date is just one of my favorite books. You ever read a book at the perfect time where it aligns with everything going on in your life? Well that was this book for me, and it will always have a special place in my heart because of that. Even though it gave me a book hangover πŸ™ƒ

JEALOUSY, JEALOUSY // a world you would sell your books to be a part of

Hopefully this counts because Anne of Green Gables is, technically, set in our world. But I would looove to live where Anne does and in the time period she does because it just sounds so beautiful and like a dream. I’ve actually heard the place where Anne lived in the books is a tourist attraction now and you can actually visit it so that’s something I really would love to do at some point.

FAVORITE CRIME // a favorite series, but a really disappointing last book

Kind of embarrassing, but I can probably count the number of series I’ve actually finished on one hand. The Selection series is one I flew through, though, back when I was in middle school and I remember absolutely loving them. Objectively I know they are not the best but I just have good memories, okay? 🀧 Anyways, The Crown actually follows the children of the main characters from the first 3 books and I did not like their daughter at all, so to read a whole book on her was just,,,not fun.

HOPE UR OKAY // a book that healed you or your comfort book

Would I recommend this book? Probably not. Do I still love it? Hell yes. This is What Happy Looks Like is a YA contemporary/romance about a small town girl and a famous actor. Honestly it is very cliche and reminds me a lot of the kind of wattpad books I used to read when I was younger but it’s still my comfort read and I can’t even tell you all how many times I’ve read it. If you are looking for something just light-hearted and a quick read then you might want to try this out.

Okay and that’s it! I was not tagged by anyone to do this LOL it just looked fun and I of course love the new album. If you’re seeing this and it’s a tag you’d like to do, then consider yourself tagged from me 😁

Have you listened to Sour? What’s your favorite song on the album?

Author: Aarushi @ aarushireads

Hi friends! My name is Aarushi (she/her) and welcome to my blog πŸ’– I’m a 19 year old reader and decided to start this so I’d have a place where I could write down all my bookish rambles and thoughts! In addition to reading, I love to write in my free time and am currently working on my YA Fantasy WIP. Found family, rivals to lovers, and a historical backdrop are just a few tropes I've added in. I love interacting with other readers and writers so be sure to leave your comments so we can chat! Thanks for being here <33 All my socials are aarushireads :) *profile pic created by prequel

14 thoughts on “Sour Album (Olivia Rodrigo) Book Tag”

  1. i don’t listen to much music hehe but i did catch some of the songs from sour and they were really catchy!! ooh high five i was so confused with regards to the worldbuilding for the first 100 pages of six of crows without reading shadow and bone!! but definitely the same here it still became a huge favourite! πŸ₯° and ahh an ember in the ashes though oh no the sequels didn’t live up for you? πŸ₯Ί

    loved reading your answers, great post as always aarushi! πŸ’—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh yay, glad to know you liked the songs you heard from sour! & it’s so nice to know i’m not alone with my thoughts on six of crows hahah, at least we both ended up loving it 🀩 ahh no, i loved An Ember in the Ashes and also liked A Torch Against the Night but i ended up DNFing the 3rd book πŸ˜” hopefully i will pick it back up at some point in the future but for now i just wasn’t a fan.

      awh you’re the sweetest, thank you Cherelle πŸ’–

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, I loved Sour too! And my favourite songs incidentally are brutal, jealousy, jealousy and traitor (I know you said you were obsessed with them on that particular day, but I enjoy them all the time)
    Also, I love the Selection, but I too feel the last two books were unnecessary! Like you, I haven’t read Shadow and Bone, despite having read Six of Crows, so I almost DNF-ed it too, but I did enjoy it in the end! And This is What Happy Looks Like is a good book! Have you read other books by Jennifer E. Smith?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. omg amazing! sour, the whole album is just so top tier, and i’m still obsessed with all its songs. you have great taste haha, those 3 songs are some of my favorites!

      gosh yes, the first three books in The Selection were just so good but as soon as the characters changed it felt unnecessary, like you said. & lol glad we share that similar experience but good thing we both stuck it out! i love the crows so much but i don’t think i’ll ever read Shadow and Bone tbh 🀧 as for other books by jennifer e smith, the only other one i’ve read is Happy Again (the sequel to This is What Happy Looks Like) but i do want to check out her other works πŸ₯°

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, thanks!

        Yeah, I mean I enjoyed the first three so much, but the next were bleh!
        Oh yes, you should check them out, a few are meh, but I really like her book Windfall

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started